Our promise to you is: We are an honest company.

The YYachts vision in boat building

We're not a perfect company, but we're authentic and reliable. We want to be measured by our actions and results and not by our statements.

Our goal is to build sailing yachts that give you time for yourself as well as freedom and fun with your family and friends - a reliable investment in a better quality of life. 

We will treat you with the honesty with which we produce our yachts. It is our passion to build sailing yachts. And nothing else.

YYachts vision in boat building
YYachts vision in boat building
Michael Schmidt YYachts luxury carbon super yachts

Michael Schmidt

In 2015 Michael Schmidt decided to found a new shipyard after an already intense career in the yachting industry. 

He wanted to build sailing yachts as he would interpret them with his many years of experience and his heart - without restrictions from marketing ideas and specifications.

His vision was to produce yachts between 60 and 100 feet in length because in this category the owners and clients speak directly to the shipyard and already have a vision of how their next yacht should look and be equipped. When building the shipyard, Schmidt was also fascinated by digitalization, so that even in the start-up phase he gave a lot of thought to what would have to change when building yachts in a digitized world. Michael Schmidt is constantly expanding the strategy of YYachts and works with highly specialized teams on disruptive processes.

Michael Schmidt decided to establish YYachts to make available to people his unique sailing proposition and his “concept of Freedom”, clearing the boat from all the unnecessary riggings, ropes and over-structures to have a clear and minimalist deck.
In such a way the owner can taste the design, the simplicity and the performance of the boat.

YYacht Vision

YYachts mission is to develop yachts ahead of their time… Our cruising boat shall be elegant yet spacious, contemporary yet classic, high-tech yet easy to sail and maintain.

That’s the reason why we are avoiding exaggerate lengths indeed Y9 can perfectly suit a human dimension, keeping away useless spaces that are difficult to manage and maintain. That would only lead to increasing the distance between the owner and the sea. We tried to find the optimum size for all the guests on board, that gives you enough privacy for your family without having an extensive crew if you desire. 

Y9 is very performing and can easily participate in regattas with the advantage of great ratings due to slightly smaller dimensions, e.g., Superyacht cup, Bucket St. Barth’s.

The emergence of YYachts is one of many success stories of founder Michael Schmidt. Schmidt was looking for a private yacht that could be fast and light. A yacht needs its own aesthetics that distinguish it from all the other yachts on the market so that one still likes to look at it after years.

Since he did not find any new boats or used boats available on the market, he decided to build his ideal YYachts by himself. With Lorenzo Argento of Brenta Design and Sir David Chipperfield, he found sailors with the same passion. Argento for the construction and Chipperfield for interior and design. 2014 was the birth of YYachts with the project of Cool Breeze.

Enjoy the Speed
According to Michael Schmidt, the ideal cruiser is the opposite of a heavy yacht overloaded with too many features: “Sailing is fun and it’s made possible by a simple boat that has been reduced to the bare essentials without sacrificing comfort. A YYachts has to run at a reasonable speed for us even in the lightest wind without having to start the engine. Once you have experienced this, you do not want to sail on any other ship.
 
Respect for Nature 
At YYachts, saving on materials is also environmental protection. Lightweight yachts reduce the operating forces and manage with smaller engines. If required, hybrid drives or energy recovery systems are installed that reduce primary energy demand. 
 
Customer Service 
Responsiveness is as important to YYachts as the construction of the yacht itself. As privately owned company, the shipyard on the Baltic Sea is able to accommodate all customer requirements. For Michael Schmidt, this is a matter of heart: "Our yachts always have to be as much part of the customer's philosophy as of the yard. The big challenge for us is that every new project means also to start anew. But that's the fun of boat building that we are living."

Learn more about Y Yachts

YYachts Hall yard

In the sheds of Michael Schmidt Yachtbau, located on the Baltic Sea on the outskirts of Greifswald, we can produce yachts up to 35 meters LOA.

Learn more

Keep it simple YYachts luxury yachts at a glance

There is a quote attributed to several famous thinkers: "I'm writing you a long letter because I didn't have time for a short one."

Learn more

Yacht construction design

YYachts works with the best designers and engineers in the world. Some models have already won awards.

Learn more

YYachts Experience in boat building and luxury boats

The YYachts employees have a combined total of hundreds of years of yacht building experience.

Learn more

Unser Versprechen an Sie lautet: Wir sind ein ehrliches Unternehmen.

Die Vision von YYachts im Bootsbau

Wir sind kein perfektes Unternehmen, aber wir sind authentisch und zuverlässig. Wir möchten an unseren Handlungen und Ergebnissen gemessen werden und nicht an unseren Aussagen.


Unser Ziel ist es, Segelyachten zu bauen, die Ihnen Zeit für sich selbst geben sowie Freiheit und Spaß mit Ihrer Familie und Ihren Freunden – ein verlässliches Investment in mehr Lebensqualität.
Wir werden Sie mit der Ehrlichkeit behandeln, mit der wir auch unsere Yachten produzieren. Unsere Passion ist es, Segelyachten zu bauen. Und nichts anderes. 

YYachts vision in boat building
YYachts vision in boat building
Michael Schmidt YYachts luxury carbon super yachts

Michael Schmidt

Im Jahr 2015 beschloss Michael Schmidt nach einer bereits intensiven Karriere in der Yachtindustrie, eine neue Werft zu gründen.

Er wollte Segelyachten bauen, wie er sie mit seiner langjährigen Erfahrung und seinem Herzen interpretieren würde – ohne Einschränkungen durch Marketingideen und -vorgaben.  

Seine Vision war es, Yachten zwischen 60 und 100 Fuß Länge zu produzieren, weil in dieser Kategorie die Eigner und Auftraggeber direkt mit der Werft sprechen und bereits eine Vision haben, wie ihre nächste Yacht aussehen und ausgestattet sein soll. Auch die Digitalisierung faszinierte Schmidt beim Aufbau der Werft, sodass er sich bereits in der Startphase viele Gedanken machte, was sich beim Bau von Yachten in einer digitalisierten Welt ändern müsste. Michael Schmidt erweitert die Strategie von YYachts fortwährend und arbeitet mit hochspezialisierten Teams an disruptiven Prozessen.

Mit der Gründung von YYachts wollte Michael Schmidt den Menschen sein einzigartiges Segelangebot und sein "Konzept der Freiheit" zugänglich machen, wobei er die Yacht von allen unnötigen Beschlägen, Leinen und Aufbauten befreite, um ein klares und minimalistisches Deck zu schaffen. Auf diese Weise kann der Eigner das Design, die Einfachheit und die Leistung des Bootes genießen.

YYacht Vision

Die Mission von YYachts ist es, Yachten zu entwickeln, die ihrer Zeit voraus sind... Die Yacht soll elegant und doch geräumig sein, modern und doch klassisch, Hightech und doch einfach zu segeln und zu warten.

Das ist der Grund, warum wir übertriebene Längen vermeiden. In der Tat kann die Y9 perfekt auf ein persönliches Maß abgestimmt werden, indem unnötige Räume, die schwer zu handhaben und zu warten sind, vermieden werden. Das wiederum würde nur dazu führen, die Kluft zwischen dem Eigner und dem Meer zu vergrößern. Wir haben versucht, die optimale Größe für alle Gäste an Bord zu finden, die genug Privatsphäre für die Familie bietet, ohne eine umfangreiche Crew zu haben, wenn Sie es wünschen.

Die Y9 ist sehr leistungsfähig und kann problemlos an Regatten teilnehmen, mit dem Vorteil, dass sie aufgrund der etwas geringeren Abmessungen gute Ratings erhält, z.B. Superyacht Cup, Bucket St. Barth's.

Die Entstehung von YYachts ist eine von vielen Erfolgsgeschichten des Gründers Michael Schmidt. Schmidt war auf der Suche nach einer Privatyacht, die schnell und leicht sein sollte. Eine Yacht braucht eine eigene Ästhetik, die sie von all den anderen Yachten auf dem Markt unterscheidet, damit man sie auch nach Jahren noch gerne anschaut.

Da er auf dem Markt keine neuen oder gebrauchten Boote fand, entschied er sich, seine ideale YYacht selbst zu bauen. Mit Lorenzo Argento von Brenta Design und Sir David Chipperfield fand er Segler mit der gleichen Leidenschaft. Argento für die Konstruktion und Chipperfield für Interieur und Design. 2014 war die Geburtsstunde von YYachts mit dem Projekt der Cool Breeze.

Genießen Sie die Geschwindigkeit
Laut Michael Schmidt ist der ideale Cruiser das Gegenteil einer schweren, mit zu vielen Features überladenen Yacht: "Segeln macht Spaß und den ermöglicht ein einfaches, auf das Wesentliche reduziertes Schiff, ohne auf Komfort verzichten zu müssen. Eine YYacht muss für uns auch bei leichtem Wind mit einer vernünftigen Geschwindigkeit laufen, ohne dass man den Motor starten muss. Wenn Sie das einmal erlebt haben, wollen Sie auf keinem anderen Schiff mehr segeln.

Rücksicht auf die Natur 
Bei YYachts ist Materialeinsparung auch Umweltschutz. Leichte Yachten reduzieren die Betriebskräfte und kommen mit kleineren Motoren aus. Bei Bedarf werden Hybridantriebe oder Energierückgewinnungssysteme installiert, die den Primärenergiebedarf reduzieren. 

Kundenbetreuung 
Kundenfreundlichkeit ist für YYachts genauso wichtig wie der Bau der Yacht selbst. Als privat geführtes Unternehmen ist die Werft an der Ostsee in der Lage, auf alle Kundenwünsche einzugehen. Für Michael Schmidt ist das eine Herzensangelegenheit: "Unsere Yachten müssen immer genauso zur Philosophie des Kunden gehören wie zur Werft. Die große Herausforderung für uns ist, dass jedes neue Projekt auch bedeutet, neu anzufangen. Aber genau das ist der Spaß am Bootsbau, den wir leben."

Lernen Sie mehr über Y Yachts

YYachts Halle Yachtwerft

In den Hallen von Michael Schmidt Yachtbau, an der Ostsee am Rande von Greifswald gelegen, können Yachten bis zu einer Länge von 35 Metern Länge produziert werden.

Mehr erfahren

Keep it simple YYachts luxury yachts at a glance

Es gibt ein Zitat, dass mehreren berühmten Denkern zugesprochen wird: „Ich schreibe Dir einen langen Brief, weil ich für einen kurzen keine Zeit hatte.“

Mehr erfahren

Yachtbau Design

YYachts arbeitet mit den besten Designern und Konstrukteuren der Welt zusammen. Einige Modelle sind bereits preisgekrönt.

Mehr erfahren

YYachts Experience in boat building and luxury boats

Das Team von YYachts vereint hunderte von Jahren Erfahrung im Yachtbau. Die Werft verlassen nur Yachten, die wir auch selbst um die Welt segeln würden.

Mehr erfahren